2022 Provincial Strokeplay Finals Updates

2022 Provincial Strokeplay Finals Updates image

Follow the latest from Trim, Stackallen and Bruff on the Provincial Strokeplay Finals, click on the links below: -

2022 Leinster Inter and Junior Gents

2022 Leinster Senior Gents and All Ladies

2022 Munster Gents

2022 Munster Ladies


Ryston's Martin Power enjoyed a facile victory in the Leinster Junior Strokeplay championship at Trim. Power, who has qualified for next weekend's National Matchplay championship, posted a 54-hole aggregate of 9 under par 153 to win by eleven strokes. The Ryston man led into the final round on 102 and a closing 51 delivered a handsome victory. 

Glen Martin (Killineer) was in second place on 110 after 36 holes and the Drogheda player's final effort of 54 gave him the runners-up slot on 164.

David Franklin (St. Patrick's) claimed third place with his 56+56+55 tally while  Ferbane’s Nathan Egan scooped the Nett award with 95.

A blistering final round of 46 saw Diarmuid Cullen (St. Patrick's) win the Leinster Intermediate Strokeplay championship at Stackallen by a single stroke from Patrick Robinson (Gowran)  who scored 49 in round three. Three strokes behind 36 hole leader Andrew O'Brien (Royal Meath) after two rounds, Diarmuid jumped up from joint fourth place with his eight under par closer to finish on 147. Andrew O'Brien was pipped for third place on the final 18 by McBride's Eddie Hockey who shot a 51 in the last round for his 151 aggregate. Nett winner was Peter O'Sullivan (St. patrick's).

Breda White (Tipperary Hills) improved ten shots on her opening round of 61 with a three under 51 to clinch her 9th Munster Strokeplay championship title with a return of 112 at Bruff. Trailing first round leader Mary Murray by three after 18 holes, Breda's tour de force in round two saw the Premier County star prevail by five fyrom Hillview' Shula McCarthy. Shula actually improved eleven strokes in her second round to post her 117 total. Cunnigar's Lorraine Troy.signed for 119 and third place. Mary Murray's consolation was to pick up the Nett prize.

Mary Quinn (Lakeside), who won the Munster Ladies Intermediate Strokeplay championship on the last occasion the championship was contested (back in 2019), lifted the Cup again at Bruff in 2022. Mary, who has also taken second place three times in this championship conjured up rounds of 59 and 60 for 119 and that ensured a one stroke victory over Cork players Paula Nolan (Rocklodge) and Sarah O’Neill (Collins). Paula’s second round of 58 clinched runners-up spot on the back eighteen from Sarah’s 59. Mairead Manning (St. Stephen’s) took the Nett award.

In a battle royal for the junior championship, Gemma Martin (Hillview) delivered rounds of 65 and 68 to just edge out Fermoy’s Mary Anne Byrne (65+69). Gemma’s clubmate Veronica Anglim too the bronze medal with 137 while Fermoy’s Michelle Flynn went home with the Nett award.

36 hole leader Craig Cahill (Rocklodge) maintained his stranglehold on the Gents Intermediate championship. Craig signed-off with a third successive round of 51 in the play-off to prevail by two strokes over the experienced Sean Minogue (Riverdale). Sean will have cause to rue his slow start. A 57 opener left the Nenagh man with work to do to make the cut but subsequent tallies of 49 and 51 saw him home in second place, one clear of David Murray (Collins). Bruff’s own William O’Donovan landed Nett laurels.

Susan Rodgers (Custume) dominated the ladies junior championship from start to finish at Stackallen. Four to the good at halfway after her opening 59, Susan maintained her advantage with a second round of 60. That saw the Athlone lady in with 119 for 36 holes and a three stroke winner over runner-up Catherine Foster of Dublin’s Glenville who posted 60+62. The battle for third place was decided on the second eighteen tiebreaker with Trim’s Annette Dowling narrowly getting the verdict (62 to 64) from Mary Sheerin (Custume).  The pair had finished level on 127.

The 2022 senior championship supplied the latest instalment in the long-standing friendly rivalry between Chrissie Sheedy and Geraldine Ward. Ger led by a shot after 18 holes when the Portmarnock legend shot 49. Back came pride of Ryston Chrissie, who plundered Stackallen for a stunning second round of 48, to deny Ger by the minimum margin, 98 to 99. Liz Quinn handed in cards of 51 and 52 to fill third place.  Shandon’s Maree O’Toole took Best Nett.

Ursula Dowd (Navan) is the 2022 intermediate champion. Ursula fashioned rounds of 54 and 57 for a 36-hole total of 111 and that ensured a single shot victory over Oldcastle’s Margaret Reilly who also equalled par in her opening round to which she added a 58. Completing a Royal County domination of the podium positions, Suzanne Reilly (Oldcastle) posted a two-round total of 114 for third place. Frances Farrell (Killineer) claimed Nett laurels.  

Sean Goggin (MacBride) has been in wonderful form all season and his good run continued with victory in the Leinster Senior Strokeplay at Stackallen. Having embarked on the final round in pole position from 14 under par and with his principal rivals faltering, a safely played 52 saw Sean Goggin finally win a provincial individual title after three runners-up performances. Goggin’s three-round total of 146 saw him home by two strokes from the fast-finishing Eamn Gibney (Castletown). Having made the play-off on the number, Gibney improved from 15th place to second, courtesy of a superb final eighteen of 44. Eamon snatched second spot on the final 18 from clubmate Evan Carry, who sot an impressive 47 closer. Wayne Allen (St. Patrick’s) captured the Best Nett prize.

Conor Cleary of Riverdale fired a fine final round of 52 to lift the Munster Junior Strokeplay championship at Bruff. That two under par effort enabled Cleary overhaul fellow Tipperary man and 36 hole leader Michael O’Donoghue (Tipperary Hills). Cleary trailed O’Donoghue by four strokes heading out for the final round but his final total of 160 saw the Nenagh player over the line by a single stroke as his fellow competitor signed for 57 to post 161 overall. Rick Harty (Ardnacrusha) shot 55 for 163 overall.  Nett went to Dean Lonergan (St. Anne's).

Ray Murphy captured his third Munster Strokeplay championship (and his second at Bruff having previously triumphed at the Co. Limerick course in 2009) with an imperious performance. Ray scored 45+48+46 for 139 which saw him crowned champion by a three strokes from local player Kieran Earls (the 2018 victor) who conjured up a brilliant 45 final round to jump up the leaderboard to second place. Tommy Hanley (Bruff) was also in outstanding form in round three, recording a 44 which saw the 2015 provincial Matchplay champion take third place on 143. Another Bruff man John Farrell took top nett honours.