2016 National Ladies Inter-Club Preview

A look ahead to tomorrow in Bagenalstown

2016 National Ladies Inter-Club Preview image

OUR final National event of 2016 takes place tomorrow in Bagenalstown, Co Carlow as the National Ladies Inter-Club competition is contested after not being held in 2015. Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor takes a closer look at this event in the following preview. 


Last held in 2014 in Tullamore, the National Ladies Inter-Club makes a welcome return to calendar this year as winners that day, Lakeside, return to defend their title with entries also from two St Bridgets teams and Cunnigar from Waterford. The Ladies competition is different from the two Gents events in that it is a nett event and from a panel of six only four players may be used at one time meaning two doubles and four singles matches in each of tomorrow’s three encounters. The Templemore club have the same six Ladies who won out two years ago for them in Josie McCormack, Helen McMorrow, Lily O’Brien, Bridget Shelley, Elaine and Mary Quinn.


            The latter has won the National Ladies intermediate Strokeplay since that win while some of the rest of the team have featured amongst the prizes in the National Munster Mixed Foursomes to give them some good competitive experience ahead of the defence of their title. The St Bridgets A side that they will face contains some national and provincial prize winners as well in the form of Bernie Dunne, Dina Dillon, Mary Sherry along with Catherine and Elizabeth Smith with Ann Sweeney making up their six for the event. Bernie Dunne will have good memories of Bagenalstown as it was here she won last year’s Leinster Intermediate Strokeplay.


            The other side entered from the Kilcullen club is made up of the minimum four players but they are four of the most renowned in the form of Chrissie Byrne, Marian Courtney, Tara Dillon and Margaret Keogh. They will face the disadvantage of having to give shots to the other teams in the event, however if they can find the greens from the tee then they will feel confident about their chances. Chrissie won the Leinster Senior Strokeplay here in 2015. They will face a Cunnigar side that contains a mix of the two sides entered from the club in the inaugural 2013 event, the A team of which reached the decider before losing out to Riverdale.


            Mary and Bridget Walsh, Mary Daly, Marie Forde, Kathleen Foran and Maureen Widger make up their six for the event. Bagenalstown as a course not often visited by the Munster sides will add an interesting dynamic to proceedings along with whether or not its shots on given holes or the ability to get birdies that decides who comes out on top at the conclusion of play.


We wish all four teams entered tomorrow the very best of luck; updates will be available on proceedings from the PPUI website throughout the day.