Provincial Schools Report

Titles go to Douglas and Drogheda

Provincial Schools Report image

Leinster Schools Finals 2015

Munster Schools Finals 2015


A NEW winner and a tight finish to the Munster Schools event in Fermoy today as Douglas Community School won the event for the first time by a single stroke from Davis College Mallow 1. Iain Aherne (seven under), Cian Morrison (six under) and Shane Madden (three under) combined for a 16 under par total of 308, one better than the Mallow school’s total of 309 after two nine under par rounds for Ed Walsh and Greg Barrett were followed by a three over par score from Roy Whelan.


One of the teams from the local schools, Colaiste an Chraoibhin Fermoy 1, were third on 311 comprising Seamus Og Shealy, Dale Dawson and Conor McCarthy. St Brendans College Killarney 1’s Michael Cronin had the best individual score of the day on 10 under par but it could only help his school to fifth place after St Colmans Fermoy 1 finished ahead of them by a single shot in fourth on 313.


In Leinster meanwhile, St Marys Drogheda 1 were the victors in St Bridgets with a magnificent score of nine under par by Luke Heeney a big factor in a four stroke victory for the team from Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan’s first team. Jamie Leech and Christopher Woods combined with Heeney for a winning total of 333, with Michael Carton, Darren Daly and Ciaran Egan shooting a combined total of 337 for the Westmeath school. St Pats of Navan had six shots to spare over last year’s winners Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa of Clara in claiming third place.


Conor Doyle, Ryan Crocock and Liam Carroll shot a combined total of 340 for the Meath School.


Leinster Qualifiers for National Final in Lakeside on October 23rd

(i)                 St Marys Drogheda 1 333

(ii)               Mercy School Kilbeggan 1 337

(iii)             St Pats, Navan 340

(iv)             Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa, Clara 1 346

(v)               Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa, Clara 2 355 

(vi)             Killina Presentation Secondary School 357

(vii)           St Marys Drogheda 2 357

(viii)         Mullingar Community College 366

(ix)             (iv) Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa, Clara 3 375


Munster Qualifiers for the National Final in Lakeside on October 23rd

(i)                 Douglas Community School 308

(ii)               Davis College Mallow 1 309

(iii)             Colaiste an Chraoibhin Fermoy 1 311

(iv)             St Colman’s Fermoy 1 313

(v)               St Brendans College, Killarney 1 314

(vi)             Colaiste Chriost Ri, Cork 317

(vii)           Carraigaline Community School 1 324

(viii)         Davis College Mallow 3 324

(ix)             Glanmire Community College 324 


Click on the above links to see how each side got on today in both provinces.