PJ Bell Memorial 2016

Prizes go to Tippperary & Waterford

PJ Bell Memorial 2016  image

TWO fine rounds of 12 under par were the key to yet another Cunnigar victory in the PJ Bell Memorial in Lakeside this afternoon as the team of reigning National Junior Gents Strokeplay Champion Paul O’Riordan, Michael Aherne and Michelle O’Connor came out on top by 1 2/3 of a shot in the end. With a First 18 score of 30, the Dungarvan club trio trailed Anthony Maher, Josie and Martin McCormack from the host club by two-thirds of a shot on 29 1/3, after they had 14 under par for their First Round.


However an 11 under par second 18 was not enough for the host side to win the title as the handicap difference proved to be in the Cunnigar side’s hands in winning out in the end. Another Cunnigar team managed to get into the prizes as well as Michael Havens, Liam Hansberry and Anne O’Connor managed to win the First 18 prize with a score of 32. 32 was also the winning score for the Second 18 prize but it needed countback to decide the winner.


In the end Riverdale trio Seamus Gleeson, Margaret Forde and Peter Dunning’s Back Nine was better than those of the two teams from McDonagh (Joe Ronan, Gary Connolly & Emma Hanlon and Paddy Phillips, Anthony Ryan and Lea Ronan) in claiming the prize.



2016 PJ Bell Memorial Results

Lakeside, Templemore

Winners: P O’Riordan, M Aherne & M O’Connell (Cunnigar) 60 

Runners-Up: A Maher, J McCormack & M McCormack (Lakeside) 61 2/3

First 18: M Havens, L Hansberry & A O’Connor (Cunnigar) 32

Second 18: S Gleeson, M Forde & P Dunning (Riverdale) 32 (B9) 


To see how all teams who took part today fared take a look at the scoresheet below

P.J. Bell Latest Score