National Seniors Strokeplay and U 16 Matchplay Day One Report

Reports from Cloghogue & St Stephens

National Seniors Strokeplay and U 16 Matchplay Day One Report image

2017 National Seniors Strokeplay Photos

2017 National Seniors Strokeplay Ladies Latest

2017 National Seniors Strokeplay Gents Latest

2017 National Under 16 Matchplay Latest

Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor reports on proceedings from the first day in both Cloghogue and St Stephens.


PJ Bell National O-55’s

A great day for the host club in all three events as they claimed prizes in each grade with pride of place going to Nora O’Hare, winner in the Junior event. A brilliant closing 55 saw her claim an eight shot victory over the field after she opened with a 65 as her winning total stood at 120 (eight over par). Club-mate Alice Rice claimed second with 128 after rounds of 65 and 63 as Riverdale’s Liz Forde would be the player to claim third on 130. Another prize for Cloghogue in this section would come with the Nett prize as Patricia Smith claimed it with a score of 96.


Play in the afternoon in the Intermediate and Senior events had to be halted temporarily due to torrential rain but come the conclusion former Irish team captain Maree O’Toole would claim a momentous win with a first National Singles title in the Intermediate grade. Rounds of level par and one under gave her a total of 107, six clear of her nearest challenger Valerie Rogers from the host club. Maree was the only player in the grade to shoot a round under par as third went to Patsy O’Donovan of Collins on 116 just a single stroke ahead of Collon’s Mary Agnew. Kathleen Carton from Kilbeggan would be the Nett prize winner with a score of 104.


The small senior field resulted in victory for Skryne’s Kathleen Geraghty with a score of three under par as the Meath player finished well with a closing 51 for the win. Second and third went to the host club and two sisters at that in Bernie Sommers and Marina O’Rourke. Bernie was two shots behind Kathleen with a score of one under as Marina piped last year’s winner Breda White for third with a score of 110. Noeleen Bedford from Seapoint would win the Nett prize with a score of 102.


Click on the above sheets for details of how all the other players fared today in the three grades.


National U-16 Matchplay

After a long day of play in St Stephens we are down to the Semi-Finals of both the Championship & Plate competitions as all 35 players received at least three matches between the Round Robin and Knockout Stages. 16 will go through to the Championship Phase with a further eight going on to Plate. Defending Helen Persson Cup holder Glenn Towler has made it back to this year’s Semi-Finals with a tight Last 16 encounter with Munster Matchplay winner Cian Murphy at the first playoff hole before going on to defeat Patrick Mitchell from Parteen by 4&3. Glenn will be facing Iain Aherne in the Semi-Final once more, the Ballinlough player defeating Eoin O’Riordan Looney of Deerpark by 5&3 before going on to defeat Munster Matchplay Runner-Up Dylan Seymour by 3&2.


            The second Semi-Final will be between Deerpark’s Cillian Courtney (Munster U-13 Strokeplay winner) and Seanie Bellew of Castletown who is the sole Leinster player left in both events. Cillian got the better of Old County’s Lennon Blake by 3&2 before he had to show great resilience in the Quarter-Finals, coming from 2down with four to play over club-mate Padraic Looney before winning out at the first playoff hole. Bellew defeated two Deerpark players himself to reach the last four, defeating Cian Murphy 2up in the Last 16 before getting the better of Jack McCarthy 3&2.


            In the Plate Quarter-Finals Aaron Roche of St Stephens carried local interest into tomorrow with a win over Deerpark’s Nathan Cronin by 2&1 but he will have to defeat a further two players from the Killarney club to win out the  event. His Semi-Final opponent will be Erin Moloney who overcame Noah Sexton by 3&2 as the second Semi-Final will be between club-mates Adam Kelly and Ryan Neeson. Adam was a 2&1 winner over Fintan Martin was Ryan won by the same score from Seapoint’s Eoin Murphy.


Look below for details of the Round Robin Stages while click on the scoresheet at the top for details of the Knockout Stages in St Stephens.  

National U-16 Matchplay Round Robin Stage

Top Two in each group qualify for Championship Last 16

Third Place Player in each Group Qualifies for Plate Quarter-Finals

Round Robin Game 5 Results

Patrick Mitchell bt Tom Cronin 9&8

Cian O’Mahony bt Jack O’Sullivan 5&4

Seanie Bellew bt TJ O’Sullivan 5&4

Aaron Roche bt Cathal Kelly 4&3

Dara O’Shea bt Ryan McCarthy 3&1

Iain Aherne bt Noah Sexton 3&2 

Round Robin Game 4 Results

Nathan Cronin bt David O’Sullivan Jnr 8&7

Cian Murphy bt Brian McCarthy 6&5

Glenn Towler bt Jack McCarthy 6&5

Cian O’Mahony bt Cathal Kelly 7&5

Dylan Seymour bt Darragh O’Callaghan 5&3

Iain Aherne bt Ryan McCarthy 5&3

Robbie Harnett bt Ryan Neeson 5&4

Fintan Martin bt Eoin Murphy 4&3

Seanie Bellew bt Adam Kelly 3&1

Padraic Looney bt Eoin Murphy 2&1

Evan Carry bt Erin Moloney 1up

TJ O’Sullivan bt Tom Cronin 3&2

Cian Murphy bt Alex O’Callaghan 1up

Eoin O’Riordan Looney bt Cillian Courtney 1up

Lennon Blake bt Noah Sexton 1up

Shea Fennell bt Aaron Roche 1up 

Round Robin Game 3 Results

Patrick Mitchell bt TJ O’Sullivan 5&4

Iain Aherne bt Dara O’Shea 4&3

Adam Kelly bt Tom Cronin 6&4

Jack O’Sullivan bt Cathal Kelly 4&3

Cian O’Mahony bt Shea Fennell 2&1

Lennon Blake bt Ryan McCarthy 3&2 

Round Robin Game 2 Results

Seanie Bellew bt Patrick Mitchell 6&5

Shea Fennell bt Cathal Kelly 9&8

Glenn Towler bt David O’Sullivan Jnr 8&7

Ryan Neeson bt Brian McCarthy 3&2

Erin Moloney bt Alex O’Callaghan 6&4

Dylan Seymour bt Luke Murphy 5&4

Adam Kelly bt TJ O’Sullivan 6&4

Jack McCarthy bt Nathan Cronin 5&3

Evan Carry bt Cian Murphy (Deerpark) 4&3

Aaron Roche bt Jack O’Sullivan 3&2

Eoin O’Riordan Looney bt Eoin Murphy 4&3

Lennon Blake bt Iain Aherne 3&1

Cillian Courtney bt Fintan Martin 3&2

Robbie Harnett bt Cian Murphy (St Annes) 3&2

Noah Sexton bt Dara O’Shea 1up

Padraic Looney bt Darragh O’Callaghan 19th 

Round Robin Game 1 Results

Patrick Mitchell bt Adam Kelly 3&2

Shea Fennell bt Jack O’Sullivan 2up

Ryan McCarthy bt Noah Sexton 1up

Lennon Blake bt Dara O’Shea 7&6

Seanie Bellew bt Tom Cronin 9&8

Jack McCarthy bt David O’Sullivan Jnr 9&8

Evan Carry bt Alex O’Callaghan 7&6

Glenn Towler bt Nathan Cronin 5&3

Cillian Courtney bt Eoin Murphy 6&5

Dylan Seymour bt Padraic Looney 4&2

Eoin O’Riordan Looney bt Fintan Martin 3&2

Luke Murphy bt Darragh O’Callaghan 5&4

Brian McCarthy bt Robbie Hartnett 1up

Cian Murphy (Deerpark) bt Erin Moloney 3&1

Aaron Roche bt Cian O’Mahony 3&1

Cian Murphy (St Annes) bt Ryan Neeson 19th 


Group One

Shea Fennell 6 pts (+10)

Cian O'Mahony 6 pts (+7)

Aaron Roche 6 pts (+5)

Jack O'Sullivan 2 pts

Cathal Kelly 0 pts


Group Two

Lennon Blake 8 pts 

Iain Aherne 6 pts 

Noah Sexton 2 pts (-4)

Ryan McCarthy 2 pts (-11)

Dara O'Shea 2 pts (-12)


Group Three

Seanie Bellew 8 pts 

Patrick Mitchell 6 pts 

Adam Kelly 4 pts 

TJ O'Sullivan 2 pts 

Tom Cronin 0 pts


Group Four

Robbie Harnett 4 pts

Cian Murphy (St Annes) 4 pts

Ryan Neeson 2pts

Brian McCarthy 2pts 


Group Five

Glenn Towler 6 pts

Jack McCarthy 4 pts

Nathan Cronin 2 pts

David O'Sullivan Jnr 0 pts 


Group Six

Evan Carry 6 pts 

Cian Murphy (Deerpark) 4 pts

Erin Moloney 2 pts

Alex O'Callaghan 0 pts 


Group Seven

Eoin O'Riordan Looney 6 pts 

Cillian Courtney 4 pts

Fintan Martin 2 pts 

Eoin Murphy 0 pts 


Group Eight

Dylan Seymour 6 pts 

Padraic Looney 4 pts 

Luke Murphy 2 pts 

Darragh O’Callaghan 0 pts