National Secondary Schools Finals Results

John Manning takes us through the significance of last Friday's results in Athgarvan

National Secondary Schools Finals Results image

John Manning takes through the significance of last Friday’s National Secondary Schools Finals Results.

St Brendan's College, Killarney become the first Co. Kerry school and the second school in history (after Davis College, Mallow) to win two All Ireland Schools’ Pitch and Putt tournaments in a row.

Robbie Harnett, Cillian Courtney and Fintan Martin are just one shy of the three winners’ medals haul of Greg Barrett, Edward Walsh and Roy Whelan of Davis College (Mallow). In all Robbie and Cillian have now been on four National winning teams, twice with the Kerry U16's in 2018 and 2019 to go with their two National Schools wins of the last two years. Fintan was also a member of the 2018 winning Kerry side. 

Having last year gone better than their respective brothers (Creagh Courtney, Sean Courtney and Lorcan Martin who all played on second-placed teams), Cillian Courtney and Fintan Martin now hold two winners’ medals. Cillian Courtney is now the only player to hold two gold medals and one silver gong (2018). 

The spread of the St. Brendan's College, Killarney scores (five strokes) in Athgarvan equals the second lowest by any winning side in the history of the All Ireland Schools tournament, equalling Davis College Mallow (at Lakeside in 2015) and St. Mary’s Diocesan School, Drogheda (St. Bridgets, 2012).  A one stroke spread has been achieved twice.

The seven stroke margin enjoyed by St. Brendan's College, Killarney is the sixth highest winning margin in the tournament’s history, and the most comprehensive since St. Francis College, Rochestown triumphed by fifteen at Fermoy five years ago.

After St. Francis College’s, (Rochestown) performance at Athgarvan, a Cork school finished runners-up for the third time in-a-row and for the seventh time.

St. Francis College, Rochestown become the fourth school to achieve runners-up position for the second time (which ties the all-time record), joining Coláiste an Chraoibhín, St. Brendan's College, Killarney and Coláiste Chríost Rí, Cork.

St. Francis College, Rochestown achieved a third podium finish in four stagings, equalling the record of St. Brendan's College, Killarney (2018, 2022 and 2023) and Coláiste an Chraoibhín, Fermoy (2017, 2018 and 2022).

Davis College, Mallow (2013, 2014, 2015, 2017) achieved four podium finishes in four stagings.

Ard Scoil Chiaráin Naofa, Clara are the first Co. Offaly school to achieve two podium finishes in the tournament’s history.

Ard Scoil Chiaráin Naofa, Clara finished third for the second successive year, equalling the record of Coláiste an Chraoibhín, Fermoy, bronze medal winners in 2017 and 2018.

Scott Griffith of Ard Scoil Chiaráin Naofa, Clara joins Conor McCarthy and Séamus Óg Shealy (both of Coláiste an Chraoibhín, Fermoy) as holder of two bronze medals.

Athgarvan becomes the eighth different venue used for the All Ireland Schools’ final.

NB – the tournament was not played in 2016, 2020 or 2021.