National Matchplay Draws 2014 – Live Blog

Live Blog from Parteen with All the Updates and Details You’ll Need

National Matchplay Draws 2014 – Live Blog image

National Ladies Matchplay Draw

National Gents Matchplay Draw

Ladies and Gents Qualifiers 

7.32pm: That concludes are draw here in the Tailrace Bar here in Parteen this evening, the draws in full can now be seen on the attached links above. Some interesting ties in both sections to get plenty of conversation going for the next two weeks! 

7.31pm: John Crangle vs. Paul Nolan

7.30pm: Mark Millar vs. John Delaney

7.29pm; Robert Bissett vs. Ian Farrelly

7.27pm: George Beardsley vs. Eamon Gibney

7.27pm: Gary O'Sullivan vs. William Buckley Jnr

7.26pm: Damien Fleming vs. Stephen Power 

7.26pm: Frank Ryan vs. Ian Dillon

7.24pm: Brian Delaney vs. Jason O'Regan

7.23pm: Kieran Earls vs. Aaron O Droighneain

7.22pm: Liam O'Donovan vs. John Walsh

7.20pm: Ray Murphy vs. Eoin Walsh

7.18pm Ladies Draw is now complete and can be viewed in full @ the above link. 

7.17pm: Chrissie Byrne vs. Patsy O'Donovan

7.16pm: Una Brosnan vs. Martha O'Brien

7.15pm: Breda Lonergan vs. Siobhan Keely

7.15pm: Margaret Hogan vs. Maree O'Toole

7.13pm: Gearaldine Ward vs. Pauline Balfe

7.05pm: Nearly set to go here in the Tailrace Bar

6.50pm: Just under 10 minutes to go now, crowd starting to gather in Tailrace Bar 

6.30pm: Arrived at this evening's venue The Tailrace Bar, beautiful sunshine @ the Parteen course this evening. 



Tonight we encounter the last hurdle before the National Matchplay Championships take place – The crucial Finals Draw. 64 Gents and 29 Ladies are in the hat for the respective draws, all eager to discover their fate. Each of them will be part of what promises to be a wonderful occasion, the cream of Irish Pitch and Putt descending on Parteen over the June bank holiday weekend.

There are 29 names in the Ladies draw with the title holder, Ger Ward, and the next three highest ranked players already seeded. They are:

  1. Geraldine Ward (Portmarnock)
  2. Chrissie Byrne (St. Bridget’s)
  3. Breda Lonergan (Tipperary Hills)
  4. Margaret Hogan (Tullamore)

The remaining ladies in the draw are numbered 5 to 32. There are three byes among these names due to an insufficient entry. The first number drawn from these will play the defending champion, Ger Ward, in the opening game.

The Gents Draw is straight forward. 64 names are in the draw and once again the four seeds are already in place.  They are:

  1. Ray Murphy (St. Anne’s)
  2. John Crangle (Loughlinsown)
  3. Damien Fleming (Deerpark)
  4. Frank Ryan (St. Bridget’s)

The remaining qualifiers are numbered 5-64 and the first number out will draw the holder, Ray Murphy, as per usual.

The Names and randomly allocated numbers of all the qualifiers can be seen at the link below: 

Tonight promises much with a lively event with an eager crowd ready for the Championships in two weeks’ time. Follow this live blog throughout the evening for the latest updates. The action gets under way at the Tailrace Bar, here in Parteen, at 7pm.