MacBride holds AGM

Annual General Meeting Report

MACBRIDE Pitch and Putt Club held it’s annual general meeting (AGM) on Tuesday 4th February in the Drogheda Resource Centre where the club officers gave a breakdown on the past year before the election of officers for the 2014 season.
Speaking about the past year, Chairman Peter Woods congratulated all players on their individual achievements throughout the year and also thanked club members and club officers for their help throughout the year.
Following reports from each of the club officers, the Player of the Year prize was the next item on the agenda. Nominations came down to two men – Padraig Sarsfield and Aaron McDonagh. 
Since returning to the club, Padraig Sarsfield has represented the club at numerous tournaments and opens as well as representing the club and country at the World Pitch and Putt Championships in Catalonia, Spain last year.
Aaron McDonagh had a great year last year and also had a number of tournament wins with the most significant being his triumph in the Leinster Strokeplay where he took victory in the Junior Grade.
Club members had a number of weeks to submit their vote on who should receive the award. 
Speaking before announcing the winner, Club Secretary Keith Smyth gave a brief outline on the two men’s achievements throughout the year and thanked them for representing the club at such a high level. 
There had to be a winner on the day and the 2013 MacBride Player of the Year went to Aaron McDonagh who won the prize by a very slim margin. 

The following are the officers that were elected on the night: Chairman – Peter Woods; Secretary – Keith Smyth; Treasurer – Ivor Flanagan; Vice Chairman – Tommy Dyas; Assistant Secretary – Ray McKenna; Registrar – Paul Moran; Competition Secretary – Keith Smyth; Public Relations Officer – Gordon Hatch; Gents Captain – Padraig Sarsfield.