2023 Provincial Schools Finals Report

Report on Proceedings in Hillview and Rochfortbridge

2023 Provincial Schools Finals Report image

Click on the links below for the latest on the Provincial Schools Competition: -

2023 Leinster Schools Latest

2023 Munster Schools Latest



Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor reports on yesterday’s Provincial Schools Finals in both Hillview (Munster) and Rochfortbridge (Leinster).



Midelton CBS’ A team of Eric Cunningham, Frankie Walsh and Conor Meany held off a three pronged challenge from St Brendans College in Killarney to win yesterday’s Munster event at a sunny and windy Hillview.


In the second session of play five under from Cunningham, one over from Walsh and eight over from Meany gave them their winning total of four over par, 328 as they completed a maiden success for the school in the competition. That was five shots better than the second placed score of 333 from the St Brendans B team of Brian McCarthy (three under), Nathan Cronin (three over) and Daniel Kelly (nine over) as they finished ahead of their D team who came third.


That score came courtesy of two under par for Alex O’Callaghan two over par for Ryan Neeson and 10 over par for Dara O’Shea. They actually beat the school’s A team of Robbie Harnett, Fintan Martin and Noah Sexton who finished on 336 in fourth. St Michaels College Listowel finished fifth on 340, just ahead of first session leaders Colaiste an Chroabhin Fermoy on Back 18 countback of the three cards with the same score in sixth.


Seventh was St Colman’s Fermoy B on 341 as both St Francis Rochestown and Millstreet Community School A claimed the final two national spots on 344, 12 clear of High School Clonmel A on 356 in 10th.


The Presentation of prizes for the Munster vent will take place at the National Finals in Athgarvan on May 19th.



Ardscoil Chiaran Naofa Clara retained the Leinster title in Rochfortbridge yesterday after their A team of Conor Doyle, Jamie Larkin and Scott Griffith went around in a combined total of two under par at the Westmeath venue.


Doyle went around in five under par, as Griffith had level par and Larkin three over in completing their winning score. That was five better than second place finishers Castlepollard Community College on 327 as Tadhg Burns brought in a massive 11 under par score Billy Buckley had three over par Callum Burns shot 119 in giving them a three over par total. Third were Mercy Secondary School of Kilbeggan on 331 as Tadgh Connell shot one over par, Jack Mullins two over and Padraig Carton four over par in a even over par total.


Fourth were the Presentation Secondary School Team on 343, just two ahead of the Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa B team on 345 in fifth. Sixth were Athlone Community College on 358, ahead of St Kevins Dunlavin on 361 in seventh. Patrician Secondary School’s A team were eighth on 366.


Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan’s B team were ninth on 370, claiming the last national spot by three shots from St Kieran’s College Kilkenny.


Our thanks to both the Hillview and Rochfortbridge clubs for their assistance yesterday in the running of both events.