2019 Provincial U-16 Matchplay Championships

Leinster in Athgarvan, Munster in St Annes

2019 Provincial U-16 Matchplay Championships image

Click on Links for the full scores from today. 

2019 Leinster Boys and Girls Matchplay

2019 Munster Boys Matchplay

Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor reports on the staging of the Leinster U-16 Matchplay Championships in Athgarvan while also looking at the first day of play in the Munster U-16 Matchplay at St Annes.



AFTER winning the National U-16 Plate Matchplay last year in Kilbeggan, Collinstown’s Jack Buckley won the Leinster Boys Matchplay Championship in Athgarvan this afternoon, getting the better of Andrew Curran from Poulaphouca in a tight decider at the very last hole. Jack came through the initial 18 hole Strokeplay Qualifier where he faced fellow Westmeath player Conor Mullins of Kilbeggan in the Last 16 3&2 before defeating Oisin Horan of Glenville 4&2 in the Quarter-Finals to reach the last four.


            Andrew claimed some big scalps on his way to the Semi-Finals, beating last year’s National Boys Strokeplay Runner-Up Jack Mullins of Kilbeggan (5&4) and former Leinster winner and Irish International Dylan Hudson of St Patricks (3&2) to reach a Semi-Final meeting with Eoin Murphy of Seapoint. Indeed the Louth twins (Irish international Luke the other twin) would be the opposition for both Jack and Andrew in the Quarter-Finals although a sibling and twin decider was prevented with Jack defeating Luke by 4&3 and Andrew having a 3&2 win over Eoin in the other Semi-Final.


            The Collinstown player would be the winner at the end of a long struggle as lays claim to provincial and national titles at the same time. The Plate meanwhile went to Kildare and St Bridgets as Feidhlem Behan was the winner in the eight player event. Feidhlem defeated Luke Kilpatrick of Glenville in his first match at the second playoff hole before defeating namesake Michael Behan from Prosperous by 4&3. Another Glenville player, Darragh McGibney would be his opponent in the final as Darragh defeated Jack Fogarty of Athgarvan 5&4 and club-mate Aaron Kilpatrick 3&1 to make the decider.


            Feidhlem won the decider 2&1 to record a significant success in the underage ranks for the Lilywhite County. The Girls title went to National Girls Strokeplay holder Sophie Farnan of Skryne as she defeated Sarah Cooney of Seapoint in the decider by 7&6. Sophie had earlier edged Eimear Ahern of Lucan in a tight Semi-Final 1up on the last as Sarah was a 3&2 winner over Eimear’s sister Maebh in the other Semi-Final in the Girls event.



WE will have a repeat of the 2016 Final in the first Championship Semi-Final tomorrow as Deerpark’s Cillian Courtney will take on St Annes Glenn Towler after Glenn was victorious in the decider of three years ago in Deerpark. Glenn overcame defending champion Shea Fennell at the last hole to earn his Semi-Final spot after wins over Jayden Chute of Listowel and David Murray of Bishopstown in the Group Stages.


            The 2016 Munster and National U-16 winner then defeated Ryan Neeson of Deerpark in his first knockout encounter in the Last 16 by 5&3 before just seeing off Shea at the final hole. Similarly Cillian won all three of his Group Stages matches against club-mate TJ O’Sullivan, Listowel’s Michael Daly and Neeson to make it to the Last 16 as he defeated 2017 winner Cian Murphy from the host club 4&3 to set up a meeting with Douglas’ Liam McGrath in the Quarter-Finals. Courtney saw out a 2&1 success to set up another meeting with Glenn as last year’s Munster U-16 winner Patrick Mitchell will face Kerry U-16 Strokeplay winner Jake Shine in the other Semi-Final.


            Patrick defeated Noah Sexton in his first Group stage encounter before losing out to Ryan McCarthy of Deerpark in his second encounter meaning he had to make do with second place in his group. Patrick wasn’t to be denied against two further Deerpark opponents however, defeating Robbie Harnett 2&1 in his Last 16 match before just edging a match with Eoin O’Riordan Looney of Deerpark that went all the way to the last hole which Patrick won 1up.


Jake Shine drew his first encounter with club-mate Conor Sweeney but defeated Deerpark’s Ryan Moloney in his second encounter to ensure he would top his group with a 3&2 win over David Murray of Bishopstown in the Last 16 setting up a Last 16 meeting with Ryan McCarthy. Jake won out 2&1 to make tomorrow Semi-Finals as the last four of the Plate event will see two Deerpark vs. Listowel encounters.


Bobby McCarron from the North Kerry club will face Noah Sexton from the Killarney outfit as McCarron defeated club-mate Trevan Chute at the last 1up. Noah chipped in for birdied at the second playoff hole to defeat club-mate Fintan Martin to book his Semi-Final spot with TJ O’Sullivan (Deerpark) and Jayden Chute (Listowel) in the other Semi-Final.


TJ was a 4&3 winners over Ryan Moloney in the Quarter-Finals before Jayden held off a brave effort from another Deerpark player, Tom Cronin, to win 2&1 to reach the Semi-Finals.


Munster U-16 Matchplay Round Robin 

Round Three Results 

Shea Fennell (Parteen) bt Tom Cronin (Deerpark) 6&5

Dara O’Shea (Deerpark) bt Fintan Martin (Deerpark) 1up

Cillian Courtney (Deerpark) bt TJ O’Sullivan (Deerpark) 6&5

Ryan Neeson (Deerpark) bt Michael Daly (Listowel) 9&8

Ryan McCarthy (Deerpark) bt Patrick Mitchell (Parteen) 3&2

Cian Murphy (St Annes) bt Bobby McCarron (Listowel) 3&1

Glenn Towler (St Annes) bt David Murray (Bishopstown) 3&1

Robbie Harnett (Deerpark) bt Trevan Chute (Listowel) 7&5

Jake Shine (Listowel) bt Ryan Moloney (Deerpark) 6&5

Cian Mulcahy (Douglas) bt Eoghan Hallahan (Bishopstown) 6&5

Round Two Results

Shea Fennell (Parteen) bt Fintan Martin (Deerpark) 5&4

Dara O’Shea (Deerpark) bt Tom Cronin (Deerpark) 4&3

Cillian Courtney (Deerpark) bt Michael Daly (Listowel) 7&6

Ryan Neeson (Deerpark) bt TJ O’Sullivan (Deerpark) 2up

Ryan McCarthy (Deerpark) bt Noah Sexton (Deerpark) 1up

Eoin O’Riordan Looney (Deerpark) bt Bobby McCarron (Listowel) 4&3

David Murray (Bishopstown) bt Jayden Chute (Listowel) 3&2

Cathal Kelly (Deerpark) bt Trevan Chute (Listowel) 2up

Conor Sweeney (Listowel) bt Ryan Moloney (Deerpark) 4&2

Liam McGrath (Douglas) bt Eoghan Hallahan (Bishopstown) 8&7

Round One Results 

Shea Fennell (Parteen) bt Dara O’Shea (Deerpark) 4&3

Fintan Martin (Deerpark) bt Tom Cronin (Deerpark) 6&4

Cillian Courtney (Deerpark) bt Ryan Neeson (Deerpark) 4&3

TJ O’Sullivan (Deerpark) bt Michael Daly (Listowel) 4&3

Patrick Mitchell (Parteen) bt Noah Sexton (Deerpark) 5&3

Eoin O’Riordan Looney (Deerpark) bt Cian Murphy (St Annes) 1up

Glenn Towler (St Annes) bt Jayden Chute (St Annes) 5&4

Robbie Harnett (Deerpark) bt Cathal Kelly (Deerpark) 6&5

Jake Shine (Listowel) A/S Cathal Sweeney (Listowel) A/S

Liam McGrath (Douglas) bt Cian Mulcahy (Collins) 5&3

Munster U-16 Matchplay

Round Robin Standings

Group 1

Shea Fennell (Parteen) 6pts 

Dara O’Shea (Deerpark) 4pts 

Fintan Martin (Deerpark) 2pts 

Tom Cronin (Deerpark) 0pts (-16)


Group 2

Cillian Courtney (Deerpark) 6pts 

Ryan Neeson (Deerpark) 4pts 

TJ O’Sullivan (Deerpark) 2pts 

Michael Daly (Listowel) 0pts (-20)


Group 3

Ryan McCarthy (Deerpark) 4pts

Patrick Mitchell (St Annes) 2pts 

Noah Sexton (Deerpark) 0pts 


Group 4

Eoin O’Riordan Looney (Deerpark) 4pts 

Cian Murphy (St Annes) 2pts

Bobby McCarron (Listowel) 0pts


Group 5

Glenn Towler (St Annes) 4pts 

David Murray (Bishopstown) 2pts

Jayden Chute (Listowel) 0pts 


Group 6

Robbie Harnett (Deerpark) 4pts

Cathal Kelly (Deerpark) 2pts 

Trevan Chute (Listowel) 0pts


Group 7

Jake Shine (Listowel) 3pts (+6)

Conor Sweeney (Listowel) 3pts (+4) 

Ryan Moloney (Deerpark) 0pts 


Group 8

Liam McGrath (Douglas) 4pts

Cian Mulcahy (Collins) 2pts 

Eoghan Hallahan (Bishopstown) 0pts