2019 Provincial Schools Competitions Report & Results

Round-Up from Glenville & Larkspur Park

2019 Provincial Schools Competitions Report & Results image

Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor reports on today’s Provincial Schools Finals in both Glenville and Larkspur Park



Home advantage and two very strong second rounds by the Horan brothers Oisin and David were the big factor in Templeogue College, Dublin running out convincing winners in the Leinster event at Glenville today. Five under for David and six under for Oisin in their second 18’s saw them finish three and five under par for their 36 respectively as team-mate Darragh Cullen had a steady four under par score in the Dublin school finishing on 12 under par, 31 shots clear of their nearest challengers.


            Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan were second, 2018 National Boys Strokeplay Runner-Up Jack Mullins finishing on one over par with brother Conor on three over as Eanna Rabbitte made up the team that finished on 343. That was just one stroke better than St Marys Drogheda 1 who despite having Sean Clerkin shoot the best score of the day with six under par, had to settle for bronze with Daniel Mulligan finishing on three over Patrick O’Connell the third member of the Louth School.


            Borris Vocational School were three shots behind on 347 missing out on a medal despite Nicholas Brennan shooting two under par. The others schools to make it to McDonagh next week were Athlone Community College 1, ASCN Clara 1, Castlepollard Community College, ASCN Clara 3 and St Patricks Classical School Navan.



A lot closer in terms of the final result in Larkspur Park but St Francis College Rochestown will lay claim to both the national and provincial titles for at least one week as the 2018 National winners had four shots to spare over St Munchins College, Limerick. 2018 National U-20 Strokeplay winner Eoin Keating and Liam McGrath swapped five and four under par rounds to both finish on nine under par as despite Colm O’Sullivan finishing on eight over par, their 10 under par combined total was still good enough for victory.


            Irish International Patrick Mitchell had the best score of the day for the Limerick School with 12 under par as National U-16 Matchplay Runner-Up Shea Fennell brought in seven under with a 13 over par score from Paddy Lawler seeing them finish on six under par overall. Last year’s Munster winners Coláiste an Chraoibhin Fermoy 1 just piped, St Brendans College Killarney 1 for third place meanwhile as Munster Junior Strokeplay winner Dylan Seymour had 10 under par and Eoin Griffin two under in Conor McCarthy finishing +10 for a two under par total.


            Nine under par from Adam Buckley helped Cashel Community School 1 to fifth overall as Ard Scoil na Mara 1, Cashel Community School 2, St Brendans College 3 and Colaiste Choilm Ballincollig qualified for next week’s National Finals, the latter just getting the better of St Brendans College 2 and CBC Cork 4 for the last spot.


Click on the links below for scoreboards as well as photos








Photos available here: 

Leinster Schools Photos


Munster Schools Photos