2019 Provincial Matchplay Championships Day Two

Concluding Day in Trim & Larkspur Park

2019 Provincial Matchplay Championships Day Two image

2019 Leinster Matchplay Finals

2019 Munster Matchplay Finals

Full results from both provinces may be found in the above links. 

A repeat of their epic 2018 National Matchplay championship semi-final saw Bryan Delaney (Bishopstown) and Rocklodge’s Shane Murphy meet in the Munster Matchplay decider at Larkspur Park. Shane Murphy (Rocklodge) avenged that loss and his defeat in last year’s provincial final with an exciting one hole success. In the semi-finals, Bryan Delaney defeated Lakeside’s Michael Fennell while Shane Murphy’s impressive run of scalps continued against European and World Strokeplay champion Liam O’Donovan (Bruff).

Martha O’Brien (Lakeside) has lost two previous Munster Ladies Matchplay finals but made no mistake today with a 2&1 victory in an-all Tipperary match-up with Hillview’s Gemma McCarthy. The Premier county came out on the right side of both Tipperary/Cork clashes in the semi-finals. Martha O’Brien eliminated Paula Nolan (Rocklodge) while Gemma McCarthy recorded a comfortable victory over namesake Vera, the 2005 champion from Collins. Martha's win was one third of Lakeside's clean sweep of the ladies titles.

A Leinster Gent’s Matchplay final for the ages at Trim as twice All Ireland Matchplay champion Mark Millar (Killineer) regained the Leinster title he last won in 2000 with a pulsating 40th hole success over four-time champion John Ross Crangle (Loughlinstown). This morning, Mark Millar edged a close battle with the experienced Joe Ronan (McDonagh) while JR was always in control against Padraic Sarsfield (McBride).

Ierne’s Helen Greagsbey (the 2017 Inter runner-up) put up a brave battle in the Leinster Ladies Senior Matchplay final against Ryston’s Chrissie Byrne. Chrissie had to demonstrate all of her Matchplay prowess to secure her ninth Leinster Senior Ladies Matchplay crown on the final green. Earlier, Helen Greagsbey proved too strong for one of the most successful players ever in international ladies Pitch and Putt, Liz Quinn (Collinstown) while Chrissie shaded the latest in a long line of battles with close friend Tara Dillon (Ryston).

There was to be no fairytale intermediate success 28 years on for the Riverdale left hander Sean Minogue. Sean exited at the semi-final stage in Larkspur Park to John Farrell (Bruff) who went on to claim the title on the 37th green from Brian O’Flynn (Tipperary Hills). O’Flynn had survived a great battle with Fermoy’s J.J. Quirke in the last four.

2014 National Junior Strokeplay champion Sarah O'Neill (Collins) continued her serene passage through the Munster Ladies Intermediate Matchplay with a semi-final success over Cork Inter-County colleague and 2018 runner-up Ailish Sexton (Fermoy). However, there was to be no denying Mary Quinn of Lakeside in the final. Last year’s Munster Intermediate Strokeplay runner-up Mary Quinn was rock solid in the decider and carved out a 2&1 success, having defeated Cork Inter-county player Patsy O’Donovan (Collins) in the semi-final.

Josie McCormack (Lakeside) has been prominent in team events and has helped her club to National Inter-Club titles. Today Josie is celebrating Munster Junior Matchplay championship glory after a 2 holes verdict over Hillview’s Veronica Anglim. In the morning semi-finals, Josie overcame 2016 Strokeplay champion Margaret O’Donovan (Bruff) while Veronica, who picked-up a session prize at last year’s National Mixed Foursomes, ended the title hopes of Nuala McNamara (Collins), a third place finisher in the 2016 National Strokeplay. 

Three host county men contested the Munster Gent’s Junior Matchplay semi-finals. The anticipated all-Tipperary final materialized when Daniel Ryan (Tipperary Hills) outlasted Deerpark’s Noel Moynihan (the only ‘interloper’ in the last four) while holder Sean O’Neill (Larkspur Park) took out Richard Swords (Tipperary Hills). Home hopes were dashed when Daniel Ryan delivered a polished afternoon performance to deny Sean O’Neill a second successive title, by 3&2.

Dunshaughlin’s Paul O’Rourke dethroned reigning Leinster Intermediate champion David Penrose (Lough Owel) with resounding 11&10 success in their final at Trim. On Sunday morning, Paul O’Rourke went through against Brian Doyle (Ferbane) while David survived a Lough Owel derby with clubmate Declan Hogan.

Clive Byrne (Collinstown) defeated the experienced Gerry Plunkett (Castletown) by 3&2 in a high quality Leinster Junior Matchplay final. Clive Byrne overcame Navan's Jonathan McCabe in the last four while Gerry Plunkett (who featured in the National Junior Strokeplay final round back in 2001) beat Clive Byrne’s club colleague Robert Masterson.

There was a double for the Seapoint club in ladies intermediate and junior. Home supporters were out in force to follow Margaret Conneely (Trim) in her Intermediate semi-final against Catherine Smith (St. Bridget’s) and Margaret delivered to qualify to face Seapoint’s Joanne Cooney who just outlasted Castletown’s Noreen Myles. Joanne Cooney progressed from third place in the 2018 Leinster Strokeplay with a 2&1 final win over a gallant Margaret Conneely.

Buoyed by a last four success over 2018 National Nett Cup semi-finalist Dina Dillon (St. Bridget’s) Seapoint’s Barbara Murphy completed the Termonfeckin two-timer with victory over Navan’s Sandra Connor at the 36th. Sandra Connor beat reigning champion Audrey Donnelly (McBride) on Sunday morning.