2018 National Matchplay Day Three

Delaney, Ward & Quinn crowned Champions in Tullamore

2018 National Matchplay Day Three image

2018 National Matchplay Latest

Matchplay Finals Live

Matchplay Final Part 2

Matchplay Final Part 3

TWO of the three National Pitch & Putt Matchplay Championship Finals went to the final hole in Tullamore, Co Offaly yesterday as Fermoy’s Bryan Delaney made up for his defeat in the 2015 Final while Ger Ward of Portmarnock held on to her title in the Ladies Gross after a great battle with Chrissie Byrne of Ryston, Newbridge in the decider.


            Delaney beat six time winner and fellow Cork player Ray Murphy of St Annes in a very tight encounter after leading by one after the first 18 holes. The players were level through much of the second 18 before Delaney birdied the 17th hole to go ahead by one and got the halve he needed on the last to win his maiden Matchplay title. He had previously won the 2009 National Senior Strokeplay and had a great win over 2016 winner Shane Murphy of Raffeen Creek by 11&10 with Murphy a 5&3 winner over Deerpark’s John McGrath in his Semi-Final.


            Ger Ward came from two behind with 12 holes to play to defeat Byrne meanwhile for her 12th title in total and she repeated her 2017 victory over the same player in the decider. A birdie on the last secured her win. She had beaten fellow Dubliner Ger Holland of RGSC in the Semi-Finals by 8&7 with Byrne a 4&3 over Fermoy’s Eleanor Walsh.


            The inaugural Ladies Nett Final was won by Elaine Quinn of Lakeside meanwhile as she defeated Annie Galvin of Tullamore in the Final by 11&9.


Finals Day Results

Ladies Gross


G Ward (Portmarnock) bt G Holland (RGSC) 8&7

C Byrne (Ryston) bt E Walsh (Fermoy) 4&3



G Ward (Portmarnock) bt C Byrne (Ryston) 1up


Ladies Nett


E Quinn (Lakeside) bt D Dillon (St Bridgets) 37th Hole

A Galvin (Tullamore) bt L O’Connor (Tralee) 1up



E Quinn (Lakeside) bt A Galvin (Tullamore) 11&9




B Delaney (Fermoy) bt S Murphy (Raffeen Creek) 11&10

R Murphy (St Annes) bt J McGrath (Deerpark) 5&3



B Delaney (Fermoy) bt R Murphy (St Annes) 1up