2016 Provincial U-16 Matchplay Preview

A look ahead to proceedings in both Deerpark and Navan

2016 Provincial U-16 Matchplay Preview image

OUR U-16 Season gets underway with the staging of the Provincial Matchplay Championships this weekend in Deerpark (Munster) and Navan (Leinster). Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor previews the action over the coming days.

Click on the link below for the Latest on the Leinster and Munster Under 16 Matchplay

2016 Leinster Under 16 Matchplay Latest

2016 Munster Under 16 Matchplay Latest

2016 Leinster Inter-County Entry Sheets

2016 Munster Inter-County Entry Sheets

2016 National Ladies Strokeplay Timesheet

Practice in Fermoy for the Seniors Strokeplay is Wednesday, Thursday and Friday until 2.00pm.


IT’S a Friday and Saturday staging for the event in Deerpark which sees the Killarney course host the event for the third time this Millennium having previously done so back in 2003 and 2009. 22 of the 40 entries are from the host club with four all club ties in the First Round proper namely Padraic Looney vs. Cian O’Mahony, Cian Murphy vs. Robbie Harnett, Dara O’Shea vs. Jack O’Neill and Eoin O’Riordan Looney vs. Cillian Courtney. We are guaranteed a new winner this year with previous winners Ryan Towler and Edward Walsh having passed through the underage ranks but 2014 Runner-Up Glenn Towler of St Annes is amongst the entries as he faces Adam Finn of St Stephens in the Preliminary Round with the winner to face Deerpark’s Tom Cronin in the First Round.


            In all there are eight preliminary round matches before we get down to the First Round of 32 players with all matches over 18 holes until we get to the semi-finals on Saturday. One of last year’s beaten semi-finalists Adam Buckley is amongst the field as he faces Alex O’Callaghan in the Preliminary Round with the winner to face Noah Sexton in the First Round. Last year’s Munster Boys 10-13 Strokeplay Winner Ian Aherne from Ballinlough has a bye into the First Round where he will face the winner of the Kieran Mills (Collins) and Aaron Roche (St Stephens) Preliminary. St Annes’ Cian Murphy was the runner-up in that section of the Munster Strokeplay last year and he finds himself facing Jack McCarthy from the host club in the First Round.


            The Semi-Finals and Final on Saturday will be played over 36 holes in deciding the eventual winner.



A small field of 12 is entered for Saturday’s event in Navan with both of last year’s Finalists from Ratoath amongst the entries. Castletown’s Evan Carry got the better of another Meath player in Gaeil Colmcille’s Seanie Bellew in the decider with Carry playing Old County’s Craig Hennessy in the First Round and Bellew facing Collinstown’s Jack Buckley in his First Round encounter. The winner of the Hennessy vs. Carry encounter will take on Collinstown’s Nicholas Isdell in the Quarter-Finals while the winner of the Buckley vs. Bellew match will face Old County’s Lennon Blake in another Quarter-Final match.


Hennessy was second in last year’s Leinster Boys 14-15 Strokeplay in Portmarnock while Blake was second to Carry in the Boys 10-13 Strokeplay at the same venue. The top half of the draw sees an all Collinstown affair in the First Round as Aaron Kennedy takes on Brian Bray with the winner to face Gowran’s Nicholas Brennan in the Quarter-Finals while Old County’s Darragh Cullen will await the winner of Darren Bray (Collinstown) and Conor Cleere (Gowran) match in the other Quarter-Final.


Similar to Munster the Semi-Finals and Final of the event will be played over 36 holes.


We wish all competitors the very best of luck in both Deerpark and Navan this weekend. Updates will be available on the PPUI website throughout the course of proceedings in both provinces.