2015 Provincial Schools Finals Preview

A look ahead to Friday in both St Bridgets & Fermoy

2015 Provincial Schools Finals Preview image

55 teams are entered for Friday’s Provincial Schools competitions in both Leinster and Munster. Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor takes a closer look at proceedings in advance of play in both St Bridgets & Fermoy.



37 teams compete in the southern province with entries from Cork, Kerry and Tipperary Schools. 20 of the entries come from Cork Schools and the two local schools from Fermoy having a total of seven entries between them namely St Colmans College (four) and Coláiste an Chraoibhín (three). St Colmans were the victors last year in Fermoy and they have two of that winning side back in their first team again with Gary Mahon and Sam Tonks as Adam Carey replaces Ryan Sexton from last year’s winning side.


            Carraigaline Community School’s first team were second last year in Munster but went on to win the National event in Ryston two weeks later. All three members of that team play again on Friday but on different teams as David Howard and Ian O’Donoghue are joined on the first team by Ruairi Mehigan while Shane Livesey is on the second team this year with Josh De Nijs and Brendan Crowley. Coláiste Chriost Rí were in the medals in both the Munster (third) and National (second) last year and they enter this year with the same team as last year in Conor Irwin, Evan Sheehan and Brian Barry.


            This year’s Munster and National Boys Strokeplay Champion, Ryan Towler plays on the St Aidan’s Community College Team alongside Colin Lemass and Alex Smith. The player who beat him in the Munster Matchplay Final is also taking part this year with Ed Walsh playing on the Davis College, Mallow first team alongside Greg Barrett and Roy Whelan, a former National winning outfit in this event. Davis College are another school to have four teams entered in the event but the School with the most entries is Abbey CBS of Tipperary who have a total of five entered.


            Our Lady’s Templemore (four) and Cashel Community School (three) make up the Tipperary entries with St Brendans College, Killarney having a total of four entries as well. Their first team contains two members of the 2013 winning Munster side from Riverdale, Creagh Courtney and Michael Cronin with this year’s National Boys Strokeplay runner-up Sean Courtney making up their first team.



18 teams contest proceedings this year in St Bridgets with last year’s winners Ard Scoil Chiaran Naofa of Clara having a total of four teams entered for this Friday. Their winning side remains intact with Mark Newman, Ciaran Doyle and Josh Fleming looking to repeat last year’s victory on what was effectively home turf in Erry.


Last year’s runners-up St Patricks of Navan return with the same team of Conor Doyle, Liam Carroll and Ryan Crocock. St Marys, Drogheda just missed out on the prizes last year in Leinster and they enter with a strong first team of Luke Heeney, Jamie Leech and Christopher Woods amongst the three teams that they have entered for Friday. This year’s Leinster Juvenile Matchplay winner Evan Carry takes part on Friday as part of the O’Carolan College, Nobber team alongside both Ethan McGrane and JJ Monaghan.


Of the other entries, Ballymakenny College have three teams entered, Mercy Secondary of Kilbeggan two while there are also entries from Tullamore College, Killina Presentation Secondary School and the Community Colleges of both St Kevin’s and Mullingar.


            Remember the top nine teams in both provinces will qualify for the National Finals in Lakeside on Friday October 23rd.


Tomorrow: We look ahead to the National Inter-Club Finals Day in Tramore on Saturday.