2015 National Mixed Foursomes Preview

A look ahead to Sunday's event in Collins

2015 National Mixed Foursomes Preview image

72 pairings are entered for this Sunday’s National Mixed Foursomes (Sponsored by Brophy Brothers Builders) in Collins; Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor takes a closer look at proceedings ahead of tee-off on Sunday morning at 9am.


THE Cork club plays host to its first National event in three years on Sunday. It’s a poignant staging for the host club in a lot of ways as this year as it marks its 70th year in existence with 11 of the entered pairings for the event coming from the host club. Gillian Morrissey and Trevor Ahern will have the honour of getting proceedings underway on home turf as they tee-off with the Seapoint pairing of Noeleen and Michael Bedford.


Gillian and Trevor are followed in the club colours by the pairings of Patsy and Calum O’Donovan, Georgina O’Brien and Nicholas Byrne, Phil Downey and Eddie Hackett, Niamh and Jerry O’Donovan, Nicola and Morty Ahern, Sarah O’Neill and Finbarr Looney, Joan O’Riordan and Timothy Dwane, Joan O’Callaghan and Tim Sheehan, Vera McCarthy and Jim Aherne along with Nuala McNamara and Brendan Meade. Linda Murphy from the hosts is also entered as she plays with Ray Murphy of St Annes. All representing the club on Sunday will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of Siobhan and Chris Scannell, the only pair from Collins to win this event back in Deerpark in 2009.


            The current holders of the title, Navan’s Catherine McCreevy and Bellewstown’s Wally Sheridan tee-off in the last pairing of the first session alongside McNamara and Meade with the defending champions just missing out on being in the prizes at the Leinsters in the Acres in late August on countback. Last year’s runners-up from Ringcommons, Gemma McCarthy and Michael Kennedy of Hillview are out towards the end of the second session alongside Mary and Pat Lynagh of Kilbeggan while the Gross prize winners last year, Tracey and Joe McGrath Jnr are also out in the second session alongside Ann Kelly and Paul Byrne of Collinstown. All the prize-winners from last year are entered again with Laytown’s Ann and Paddy Bird returning off the back of winning the First 18 prize at the Leinsters this year after having won the Second 18 prize in last year’s staging. Rocklodge’s Mary Murray is also entered although she plays with Garrett O’Mahony on Sunday as opposed to John Tracey after both John and herself were First 18 prize-winners last year in Ringcommons. Runners-up from the recent Munster Mixed Foursomes in Lakeside, Frances Ryan and Martin McCormack are also entered for Sunday.


            Former winners amongst the field on Sunday include 2008 winners, Laura and Rory O’Hanrahan from Hillview, Tracey and Joe McGrath who were winners a year earlier in Rocklodge (2007) while Ian Farrelly who was a winner in 2003 with Catherine McCreevy plays with Kathleen Geraghty of Skyrne this Sunday. National Intermediate Ladies Strokeplay Champion from earlier on this year, Mary Quinn of Lakeside is entered playing Paddy Quinn in the second session with eight entries from Hillview the biggest entry from any club outside of the hosts themselves.


            The tight confines of the Collins course will present its own challenges to all competitors on Sunday. As is often said, Mixed Foursomes is a tough format that requires a good deal of patience as well as a bit of luck on the day and the 45th staging of this event stretching back to its first running in the Ierne club back in 1971 should be no different on Sunday.  


We wish all those entered on Sunday in Collins the very best of luck as well as a safe journey to the Cork venue. Updates will be available on the PPUI website throughout proceedings.