2014 Provincial Mixed Foursomes Preview

An overview of the action in Fermoy and Old County this Sunday

2014 Provincial Mixed Foursomes Preview  image

SUNDAY sees a total of 61 pairs look to win the Provincial Mixed Foursomes titles in Old County (Leinster) and Fermoy (Munster). Communications & Press Officer Jason O’Connor sets the scene ahead of the staging of this tricky and testing but ultimately intriguing format.



36 teams take part in Sunday’s proceedings in Old County with last year’s first and second place pairings from Royal Meath amongst the field. Gaeil Colmcille pairing Mary Farrell and Martin Reilly had a winning margin of four shots over Erry sister and brother Tracey and Joe McGrath Junior in 2013 and both pairings return for this year’s staging. There are six pairings from the host club involved with Kathleen Condron and Anthony Parsons teeing off first at 10am.


            Other Old County pairings include Agnes and David Redmond, Joan Redmond and Stephen Power, Laura Whelan and Paul Griffin, Pauline and Thomas Balfe, along with Deirdre Curran and Gerry Clarges. Irish Ladies No Two Chrissie Byrne from St Bridgets teams up with Ryston’s Darren Keogh with pairings from Louth and Westmeath also prominent in the draw sheet. In all there are 12 different clubs with representatives in the competition and as always with this format it will be interesting to see if low scoring or the combined handicap is the difference in determining the winning pair.



LESS than six weeks after it played host to the National Ladies Strokeplay Championships, Fermoy plays host once more to a PPUI event, this time to the 25 pairings looking to win the Munster Mixed Foursomes title. Last year’s winners from Lakeside (who were also members of the host club) Francis Ryan and Martin McCormack return to defend their title with the winners of the Gross prize (another Lakeside pairing) Lily O’Brien and Ronan Loughnane also taking part in this year’s staging.


            Fermoy have six pairings involved themselves, Ailish and David Sexton being the first to tee-off for the club followed by Kathleen Lee and Ned Rice. Angela O’Connor and Kevin Doyle, Theresa O’Keeffe and David Roche, Sarah Byrne and James Devonshire along with Nicole Burke and Daniel Keohane are the other pairings from the host club taking part as five out of the six Munster counties are represented on Sunday.


            Liz Lysaght and Michael Curtin from Charleville represent the Limerick Board while Tony Blake and Lisa O’Connor from Tralee are the only pairing from Kerry to take part.


            We wish all pairings in both venues on Sunday the very best of luck, Updates on proceedings will be available on the PPUI website and our social media platforms throughout the day.