Lakewood Pitch & Putt


Located in the John A. Wood Sport and Social Complex, Barnagore, Ovens, County Cork, Lakewood Pitch and Putt Club offers members and visitors magnificent facilities including a modern club house and changing rooms and a national championship grade pitch and putt course.

Lakewood Pitch & Putt Club dates back to its foundation year of 1973, the idea of a pitch and putt club had been formed by the John A Wood Sports and Social club as early as 1970. In that year the club received a site from the John A Wood Ltd company to develop into a sports area for the use of employees, and it was decided to put the wheels in motion towards forming a 9 hole pitch and putt course.

In September 1971, the then president of the P.P.U.I. Pat Dalton of Limerick was contacted, and this meeting led to the selection of a pitch and putt site. The dream became a reality on the 18th August 1973, when a 9 hole course was opened by
Paddy Harkins president of the P.P.U.I. Paddy later became captain of the club and his daughter Gretchen Ahern is currently Secretary of the club succeeding John Coleman in 2013.

The first committee of Lakewood was formed on 15th November 1973 under the chairmanship of Danny Murphy. In March 1975 John Coleman became secretary of the club and remained as secretary until 2013, working tirelessly to keep the club at the forefront of pitch and putt. Tim Lucey and Frank Collins both John A Wood Ltd employees were founder members of the club and served until their deaths. Frank Collins became treasurer in 1975 and served in this position up to his untimely death in early 1988. His wife Sheila succeeded in the role until her retirement in 2013 when Pat Moore took over the Club Finances and is still holding the office.

In 1975 the course was extended to 18 holes and immediately the club began to prosper. Many improvements have been made over the years, including a watering system , additional features on the course with an additional 6 greens created to give a choice of courses and the renovation of the clubhouse to provide better facilities with an upstairs view of the course. The addition of CCTV in 2014 provides additional security.

Over the years many Cork and Munster Championships have been won including Valerie O’Leary who was the winner of the 2011 Munster Ladies Inter Strokeplay championship. In 1990 when Lakewood had two youthful champions. Davy O’Donovan who won the Juvenile Strokeplay championship and Teresa Conway daughter of Pat and the late Dan Conway won the short-lived Ladies Junior Matchplay.

Lakewood has contributed officers to Cork, Munster, and N.E.C.  John Coleman R.I.P.served as secretary of Munster Council, P.R.O.of Cork County Board, member of N.E.C., and honorary auditor of the P.P.U.I. Dan Conway R.I.P. served as vice-president of Munster Council and Member of N.E.C. Paddy Kelleher R.I.P. served as Vice-Chairman and Chairman of Cork County Board, Competitions Secretary and President of Munster Council and member of N.E.C. Steven Enneguess has served as Vice-Chairman and P.R.O. of Cork County Board, Competitions Secretary and Vice- President of Munster, and is currently the national Coaching Officer of the P.P.I.Lakewood has hosted a number of national competitions including: 1983. Ladies Strokeplay. 1987. Gents Matchplay. 1991. Ladies Matchplay. 1993. Inter- County. 1997. Mixed Team event. 1999. Ladies and Gents Matchplay. 2003. Ladies Strokeplay. 2006. Juvenile Inter-County and Strokeplay. 2007. Ladies and Gents Inter-County.

Over the years the club has been supported by the Sports and Social Club who have provided Funding towards  the magnificent facilities.
The Lakewood name is also carried by the  Soccer, Tennis, and Badminton Clubs. who have made major contributions to their respective sports. The bar facilities are also open to all affiliated members.

Currently the club like most other clubs is suffering a decline in membership, but it is hoped that situation will improve in 2021. Membership application forms are available in the clubhouse and any information relating to club affairs can be obtained on our website at 

Lakewood Committee for the 2020 season: 

President: John Curtin. Vice-Presidents: Pat Conway, Chairman: Frank Riordan. Vice-Chairman: Eileen Murphy. Secretary: Gretchen Ahern. Treasurer/PRO: Pat Moore. Registrar Paddy Dennehy, Competitions Secretary: Billy Fitton.  Juvenile Officer: Darren O'Leary. Club Coach:  Lady Captain: Josie Twomey. Gents Captain: Pat Moore. . 
General Committee: , Sheila O'Leary, Margaret Bowen, Pat O'Keeffe, Mick O'Leary, Pat Twomey, Betty White:

Club News

Lakewood History


This club has not added details about their course yet