





Ireland

Meet the Irish World Cup team

Manager Michael Vaughan, Kieran Earls, Ian Dillon, Padraic Sarsfield and Sub Damien Flemming.

TEAM MANAGER

MICHAEL VAUGHAN

- 2018 Leinster Intermediate Strokeplay champion
- Twice National Intermediate Strokeplay championship runner-up (at Tullamore in 2016 and at Glenville two years later when he contested a play-off for the title)
- Third in the same championship at Stackallen in 2014
- **Leinster Competitions Co-Ordinator**
- **National Competitions Co-Ordinator**
- Has served Louth Down Monaghan Regional Board as Competitions Secretary
- Qualified Pitch and Putt referee





KIERAN EARLS

- Reigning National Strokeplay champion
- 2020 National Matchplay champion
- the 17th player in history to win the National Gents Matchplay and National Gents Strokeplay titles
- Runner-up in 2024 World Strokeplay championship
- 2022 Munster Matchplay champion
- 2018 Munster Strokeplay champion
- 2022 Munster Strokeplay runner-up
- 2013 Munster Matchplay runner-up
- Two Munster Inter-County wins (2008 and 2018) with Limerick
- Five-times Munster Inter-County runner-up (2011, 2012, 2013, 2017, 2023)
- Winner of the 2016 International Pairs tournament in Catalonia (with Tommy Hanley), runner-up (again with Tommy) in 2018
- Bronze medallist in 2019 National Inter-County with Limerick
- 2023 WPPT Catalan Master winner
- Catalan Open runner-up 2014, 2015
- Irish Open runner-up 2024
- Andorra Open runner-up 2013
- 3rd in 2022 Irish Open
- Munster Foursomes and National Foursomes Best Gross winner 2023 (with Tommy Hanley)
- Represented Munster in the 2023 Interprovincial match
- Prolific Scratch Cup winner including Ardnacrusha, Bruff, Mellows
- Multiple County champion
- Runner-up in 2008 National Intermediate Strokeplay championship
- Runner-up in the 2017 World Pairs championship (with Tommy Hanley) Makes his individual international debut







IAN DILLON





- Reigning Catalan Open champion
- Third in 2016 British Open
- 1997 and 1999 Leinster Mixed Foursomes winner (with Marian Byrne)
- 2017 and 2018 Leinster Mixed Foursomes winner (with Catherine Dillon)
- 2020 National Matchplay runner-up
- Prolific Scratch Cup winner, including Westmeath Classic, Kildare Co. Board, Poulaphouca, Athgarvan, St. Bridget's
- 2000 National Inter-County winner with Kildare
- 2011 Leinster Inter-County inner with Kildare
- 2004 and 2007 Leinster Inter-County runner-up with Kildare
- Leinster Matchplay champion 2022
- Leinster Strokeplay runner-up 2024
- Leinster Matchplay semi-finalist 2024
- Represented Leinster in the 2023 Interprovincial match
- Leinster Intermediate Strokeplay runner-up 1995
- Played for Ireland against Catalonia at Lloret in 2014. International Record FS W0 L1 H0; FB W1 L0 H0 S W0 L1 H0
- National Mixed Team event winner with St. Bridgets's 2002, 2008. Runner-up 2009 2021 National Matchplay semi-finalist
- 3rd WPPT Irish master 2023
- 3rd with Kildare in 1993 National Juvenile Inter- County
- Leinster Inter Club winner 2002





PADRAIC SARSFIELD

- Club President at MacBride
- 3rd with Louth in 2024 Leinster Inter-County
- National Inter-County runner-up with Louth in 2015, 2016 and 2019
- 2016 Leinster Inter-County winner with Louth
- 2014 and 2018 Leinster Inter-County runner-up with Louth
- 2023 National Mixed Foursomes winner at Royal Meath (with Audrey Donnelly)
- Fourth in 2017 Irish Open at Seapoint
- Runner-up (with Audrey Donnelly) in 2016 Leinster Mixed Foursomes at Lucan
- 3rd in 2023 Meath Masters at Stackallen
- National Matchplay quarter-finalist in 2022 at Douglas
- Louth Senior Matchplay champion in 2018 and in 2022
- Runner-up in 2022 Castletown Masters
- Leinster Matchplay finalist in 2019
- 3rd in 2019 Laytown Scratch Cup
- Regular qualifier for the final round of the National Strokeplay championship
 - Makes his international debut





DAMIEN FLEMING

- Four-time National individual champion (three Matchplay, 2011, 2019, 2021 and one Strokeplay, 2018)
- 2014 National Matchplay runner-up
- Three-times National Strokeplay runner-up and twice third
- Munster Strokeplay champion in 2019
- Munster Matchplay runner-up in 2024 having previously been runner-up in 2008
- 2018 Munster Strokeplay runner-up
- Two Munster Inter-County (2001 and 2010) wins with Kerry
- Twice National Inter-County runner-up (2010 and 2022) with Kerry
- Twice Munster Inter-County runner-up (2018 and 2024) with Kerry
- Three-time Irish Open champion (2009, 2011 and 2018)
- 2016 Irish Open runner-up
- 3rd in 2012, 2013 and 2014 Dutch Open
- Former NEC Officer, Club Chairman and Chairman of Kerry



County Board

- Prolific Scratch Cup winner including Enable Ireland, Rocklodge, Deerpark
- Multiple County champion
- Four times Ireland's No. 1 ranked player



Irish World Cup Winners 14th October 1997 at El Vendrell



Ireland beat Tarragona 10 matches to 0.

Details (Ireland names first):

18 Holes Matchplay (started on 10th tee)

Anthony Malone beat J. Traynor 2&1, John Walsh beat E. Torres 5&4, William Buckley Junior beat M. Riba 6&5, John Campbell Junior beat J.L. Arcos 2&1, Paul O'Hagan beat R. Brotons 1 hole.

18 Holes Medalplay (started on 1st tee)

Ray Murphy 60 beat R. Johnson 80, Liam O'Brien 56 beat M. Sanchez 72, Sean Downes 57 beat J.J. Berrio 63, Noel Joyce 60 beat P. Calvet 66, Sean Harkins 57 beat A. Fernandez 61.

After a windy morning during practice, calmer conditions prevailed for the match in the afternoon on a long, challenging course (holes up to 120 metres). The front nine was very long with the back nine more akin to Irish Pitch and Putt.

The steadier play of the Irish gave them the edge over their more cavalier opponents.

Anthony Malone was behind early on but rallied while all the others were in command from the off.

10-0 was the best possible start to the tour which later produced a 9-1 victory over Barcelona at Vallromanes and that historic 14½-5½ success in the official international challenge v. Catalonia at Solius.